Kenyatta University

Kenyatta University became a fully-fledged University through the Kenyatta University Act of 1985 with a vision of becoming a dynamic, an inclusive and a competitive centre of excellence in teaching, learning, research and service to humanity. Over the years, the University has witnessed significant expansion of student and staff population, programmes. There has been tremendous physical development especially within the main campus, leading to the establishment of satellite campuses, namely Ruiru, Kitui, Mombasa, Parklands, Nakuru, Nyeri, Kericho, Garissa and City Centre campus. The University has only one college namely Machakos University College. Currently, Kenyatta University has a student population of over 70,000 and staff of over 5,000.

The history of the School of Engineering and Technology has its roots in the Appropriate Technology Centre (ATC), which was created in the early 1980’s to demonstrate the application of physics in solving day-to-day problems in the rural and urban areas of Kenya using locally available resources. The centre was later upgraded and became a Department of Appropriate Technology (DAT) between 1985-2002. In the year 2003, the DAT was renamed Department of Engineering and Technology housed under the School of Pure and Applied Science (SPAS). The objective of creating the school was to transform the department of Engineering and Technology into a world-class teaching learning and research institution. This would UBORA the School of Engineering and Technology to participate fully in industrial development and to become a key player in the attainment of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and the vision 2030.

Department of Engineering and Technology transformed by restructuring the department within SPAS for efficient and effective management. Restructuring and transformation of the Department of Engineering and Technology, Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Department into the School of Engineering and Technology was ratified by the Kenyatta University Senate in the academic year 2007/2008. On 31st may 2011 the former Prime Minister of the Republic of Kenya officially opened the school of engineering complex at the university. The opening of the school marked a major milestone in both the development and enhancement of engineering education at Kenyatta University.

Kenyatta University is the only University in Kenya offering Biomedical Engineering as a degree. This places it at the forefront in terms of teaching, research and building human capital specialised in biomedical engineering. In addition, the University has embarked on the construction of a state-of-the-art Teaching, Research and Referral Hospital with the aim of providing a quality learning and research environment. Kenyatta University hosted the ABEC summer school at the school of engineering and technology, it has a state of the art engineering school with well-equipped labs.